National Academy of Medicine Elects Five Penn Experts 

Five Penn experts have been elected to the National Academy of Medicine (NAM), one of the nation’s highest honors in the fields of health and medicine. The five individuals are:

Kurt Barnhart, MD, MSCE, the William Shippen Jr. Professor Obstetrics and Gynecology and a professor of Epidemiology in Biostatistics and Epidemiology at Penn Medicine, University of Pennsylvania Health System

Christopher Forrest, MD, PhD, professor of Pediatrics and the director of the Applied Clinical Research Center at Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP)

Susan Furth, MD, PhD, chief scientific officer and an executive vice president of CHOP

Desmond Upton Patton, PhD, MSW, Penn Integrates Knowledge University Professor the Brian and Randi Schwartz University Professor with joint appointments in the School of Social Policy & Practice (SP2) and the Annenberg School for Communication, and with a secondary appointment in the Perelman School of Medicine

Robert Vonderheide, MD, DPhil, Director of the Abramson Cancer Center and the John H. Glick Abramson Cancer Center Professor.

Congratulations to all for their extraordinary contributions to the advancement of health care, the medical sciences and public health. Read more about them here.

Skip to content